Founded in: 1870

Commonly known in the beginning as "le bout de l'île" (the tip of the island), Sainte-Pétronille de Beaulieu was seen as a very popular resort in the middle of the 19th century. Before the arrival of the colonizers, the sector was a rest area and a refuge for the Huron Indians. Later, the wealthy families from Quebec City and Montreal built many luxurious residences that can still be seen along "Chemin du Bout de l'Île" ("Tip of the Island" road). The village was originally an extension of the neighbouring village, Saint-Pierre. Over the years, a rumour developed itself, giving birth to the belief that Sainte-Pétronille was the daughter of Saint-Pierre.

For over 20 years now, every summer, the village church is a gathering point for music lovers. The Sainte-Pétronille Chamber Music Festival presents some of the best international class musicians.


Founded in: 1679

Called Saint-Paul till 1698, then changed to Saint-Laurent, this village has always been known for it's maritime vocation. Many remains of this flourishing period can still be found, from shipyards to "chalouperies" where, until the middle of the 19th century, more than 400 rowboats, longboats and canoes were produced yearly. Since 1984, the marina is host to many sailboats. In 1985, Saint-Laurent was twinned with Tourouvre, Perche, in France.


Founded in: 1679

The church of Saint-Jean goes back to 1732. The cemetery, with it's unique view and the illusion of infinity brought about by the widening river, leaves a lasting impression on visitors. From the beginning, this village has been the home to many sailors, mostly river pilots. The importance of these sea people, the presence of prosperous farmers (milk production, as well as potato and strawberry) and the great number of vacationers, have earned Saint-Jean the title of Capital of the Island until the construction of the bridge, in 1935.


Founded in: 1679

Saint-François distinguishes itself form the other villages on the island by the large area it covers, from North to South, on the Eastern tip of the island. The population, made up mainly of farmers, is scattered all over the territory. These wide open spaces are ideal for the culture of leaks and potatoes, among others. The view on Mont-Sainte-Anne and the Cap Tourmente is breathtaking. At that point, the river is 10 times wider than in front of Quebec City, and that is also where, due to the action of a 14 feet tide, fresh water begins mixing with salt water.


Founded in: 1661

Sainte-Famille is the oldest village of Ile D'Orléans. This is where one can find the greatest concentration of stone houses, going back mostly to the French régime period. Right in the heart of the village, in front of the church (1743), is the "Couvent de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame", established by Marguerite Bourgeois (1685). The farming industry is most important in Sainte-Famille; milk production and breeding occupy an important place, and, comes autumn, many orchards open up for the people to pick up their own apples.


Founded in: 1679

Saint-Pierre, where one can find the oldest country church in Quebec (circa 1720) used to be a centre of traditional crafts: butter factory, forge, tin trade and cheese factory among others. The village also keeps a farming tradition alive by producing potatoes and strawberries. Its population never stopped growing since the building of the bridge, in 1935. During spring and during autumn, on each side of the bridge, one can see hundreds of thousands of geese and ducks feeding and resting before continuing their long migratory journey.